Spyderco Police Model

My Review: 8 spyderco_police1.jpg

The spyderco Police model with the SpyderEdge serrated blade is awesome. I have been thinking about buying one for several years; I first heard about them when I read “Hannibal” by Thomas Harris. After learning that it was the preferred blade of fictional serial killer Hannibal Lecter, I had to check it out. I am a knife enthusiast, but the $150+ price tag deterred me for a while.

However, I recently got engaged, got drunk, and my present to myself was to finally sack up and buy the knife. Here’s the deal:

  • All stainless steel (blade, scales, etc.)
  • Large thumb hole for easy one-handed opening
  • Pocket clip for easy carry and access
  • Good heft and balance – feels solid in your hand
  • Indented lock-release – lets you really grip it without accidentally releasing the blade
  • 4 1/8″ blade
  • 5 5/16″ closed

This is a beautiful knife. It feels good in your hands, and definitely feels solid. It’s pretty heavy for a pocket knife, and has a fairly gigantic blade for a pocket folder. When you open it and feel the blade “snick” into place, it’s pretty damn convincing. The clip has 3 screws holding it in place, which will help it to stay solid. Spyderco traditionally has extremely high quality materials and workmanship (so I’ve read) – this is my first Spyderco knife, and it is everything I have been told it would be.

My friends and I often carry pocket knives, and frequently like to play the “flick out your blade one-handed” game. The spring, right out of the box, is pretty stiff on this one and it is not an easy flick. Although there is a lot of weight in the knife overall, there is not a lot of mass in the blade as compared to the handle. In order to flick this one (without using the thumb hole) you have to hold it pretty low on the handle. I suspect it will break in a little with time and use.

If you are interested in one of these babies, there are links below. Spyderco sells them directly on their site, and there are dozens of e-tailers who also sell this knife. My favorite, Smoky Mountain Knife Works is also listed, and they sell the Police model for well below MSRP.

spyderco_police.jpg

This knife kicks ass. It gets a solid 8 rating, and I recommend it whole-heartedly.

http://spyderco.com/catalog/details.php?product=2

http://smkw.com/webapp/eCommerce/product.jsp?Mode=Text&SearchText=spyderco&Search.x=0&Search.y=0&Search=1&SKU=SP07S

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

