Leaving the Toilet Seat Down – Review Rant

My Review: 2

dania-blue-toilet-seat-6174.jpg

It is a bunch of crap. Pardon the pun.

Why do men always have to leave the seat down? The fact is, men generally pee standing up. While we have the ability to aim, we rarely have the patience or inclination, so we usually lift the toilet seat. Why is it that women do not raise the seat after they pee as a favor to us, rather than the other way around?

I suppose an argument could be made that in the middle of the night, a sleepy woman with a small bladder is quite likely to not look closely and end up stuck in the toilet. Whereas, the worst we men will do is make a mess by pissing on the seat (or the lid… don’t ask.) However, on the whole, I find the whole thing to be a little too one-sided. I think sometimes, instead of being scolded for leaving the seat up, we should be left alone. And once in a while, a woman should raise the seat after she completes her business in deference to the fact that we might be in a hurry and not want to slow down and lift the seat.

An illustrated drawing to help the women out there who aren’t sure how to lift the seat:

new-toilet-seat-installation.jpg

Now, to be perfectly honest, I don’t really mind putting down the seat. I asked my fiancee (I dislike that word, but that’s the situation I’m in) when was the last time I forgot to leave the seat down, and she said she couldn’t remember. I’m good at remembering things like that.

And (sigh) while I don’t think I should have to constantly remember to lower the seat, I have learned where and when to pick my battles. That’s why I’m writing this post instead of causing an argument. šŸ™‚ But I don’t have to like it. Lowering the seat after you pee gets a 2.

230197784.jpg

4 comments so far

  1. Monko on

    Personally, I put the entire lid down for health reasons. It has been proven that when the toilet is flushed, germs from within (ie. your stool and liquid waste) disperse up to a 6 foot perimeter around the toilet. Measure it out…where is your toothbrush? Not fun to think about. As a compromise for men and women and for the sake of everyone’s health, we should all just put the entire lid down.

  2. Levon on

    Your point is well taken – but this is not a hygiene issue that I’m raising – it is a moral one.

    In all seriousness, you’re right, and that is gross.

  3. Ashley on

    Men should stop complaining. You have a choice to sit or stand, and you choose to stand up when you pee. We women don’t. Maybe if you decided to sit down when you pee you’d understand how big a pain in the ass (no pun intended) it is when you don’t have the seat down. Until then, do us, and yourselves, a favor and put the seat down. No one likes a broken tailbone.

  4. David on

    Hey Ashley,

    Thanks for your comment. I didn’t really think of my post as complaining so much as “venting.” But I hear you. (Between you and me, sometimes I do pee with the seat down, and if I miss I wipe it up.) šŸ™‚

    David


Leave a Reply

