Cubicles

My Review: 1

There may one day come a time when the subject of a review will receive a 0. For the moment though, as the title of this blog is “1 to 10 Reviews” I will restrict the lowest possible score to a 1. And cubicles receive that score. They suck.

cubicle.jpg

Thus far in my professional career, I have avoided cubicilism, or the state of being ensconced in a cubicle for the 8 working hours of one’s daily life. I am opposed to the cubicle on moral as well as practical grounds – I believe they are wicked and immoral.

Ok, that’s kind of hyperbolic, but I still don’t like them.

It’s hard to explain why I dislike cubes so much. Office cubes I mean, the type like you see in the movie “Office Space.”

office-space.jpg

I think they simultaneously restrict and expose the self. You are shut up in a public space; that’s something of an oxymoron, but maybe that’s part of the reason I dislike them so much. There is a serious lack of privacy (if you need peace and quiet for making phone calls for instance), but there is also this weird type of territory that is created, carved up and doled out in the use of cubicles.

The office in which I work installed some cubicles recently. I politely requested to have space in one of the offices (with a window and a door) that were still available, and I was much relieved when my request was granted. I would probably have gone into crisis mode had I been asked to occupy a cube.

photo.jpg

The point here is that the cubicle lifestyle is not for me. I think it makes a person feel exposed and confined at the same time, and neither of those are good feelings. I oppose the cubicle lifestyle, and I rate it a 1 out of 10.

2 comments so far

  1. Monko on

    Ditto!

    I just changed jobs, and so far, I can actually say I like my job. I don’t mind getting up in the morning to go, that’s how much I enjoy it at the moment. BUT, as soon as I remember I am sitting in that cube of mine, I lose all the new job hype. I actually just went from BIG office with nice view (a rating of a 10) to the lowest place on earth, a cube. They completely suck! If an office is not available, I would MUCH rather be in an open office environment (cubes without walls) than stuck inside my lonely (though right next to 2 other people) cube. I actually believe the cube is provided to give you a sense of privacy, but we all know this isn’t the case.

    Oh, and one more thing to add…they provide opportunities for others to sneak up on you! Typically, as seen in the last picture of this post, your back is forced to be facing the opening of the cube. I can’t stand when people are suddenly looking over my shoulder and I had no idea they were there!

    Okay, I’m done ranting and raving. Just wanted to add my two cents.

    Down with the cube!

  2. David on

    Thanks for the comment and the feedback – I’m sorry you have to suffer through the cubicle lifestyle.

    That blows.

    -David


Leave a Reply

