RENT

My Review: 8

In 1996, my first year of college, the musical RENT, by Jonathon Larson, came out on Broadway in New York.  I was lucky enough to go see it with my friends David Neufeld and Aliza Etlin nee Katz.

I loved this show.  I saw it in New York that year, and then again in San Diego two years later, with Neil Patrick Harris (go Doogie / Barney) playing the role of Mark, one of the lead characters.  He was great.

I think the music, the dialog, and the message in this play are outstanding.  Seasons of Love is an amazing song, just one of many throughout the play.  My friends may make fun of me for writing a post expressing my appreciation for (and love of) this play, but I can take it.  RENT gets an 8, and it’s worth every point.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

